I Ching

I Ching Hexagrams

I Ching

Itinerary for I Ching divination

I Ching, the Classic of Changes, is the oldest Chinese classics. I Ching dates back to 3000 B.C. and it has been used for divination purposes since then. However, its philosophical value is also beyond dispute.

In Europe, people had to wait until the 19th Century to read the first publications of I Ching but it immediately became popular.

I Ching – your fate in the lines

Originally I Ching only could give yes-no answers. The full line meant yes, one with a break a no. This founded the basis of I Ching’s so-called trigrams in which there are eight distributions of the full and broken lines. Each sign materializes in a picture that symbolizes an earthly or heavenly phenomenon.

The interpretation of the hexagrams is complex but if you take your time, you can easily understand them. The following chart summarizes all the 64 hexagrams. Click on the one you’re interested in and learn more about the mysterious world of I Ching.

1. The Creative (Chyan) 2. The Receptive (K’un) 3. Difficulty at the beginning (Chun) 4. Youthful Folly (Meng)
5. Waiting (Hsu) 6. Conflict (Sung) 7. The Army (Shih) 8. Holding together (Pi)
9. The Taming Power of the Small (Hsiao Chu) 10. Treading, conduct (Lu) 11. Peace (T’ai) 12. Standstill (P’i)
13. Fellowship with the Men (T’ung Jen) 14. Possession in Great Measure (Ta Yu) 15. Modesty (Ch’ien) 16. Enthusiasm (Yu)
17. Following (Sui) 18. Work on what has been spoiled (Ku) 19. Approach (Lin) 20. Contemplation (Kuan)
21. Biting Through (Shih Ho) 22. Grace (Pi) 23. Splitting Apart (Po) 24. Return (Fu)
25. Innocence (Wu Wang) 26. The Taming Power of the Great (Ta Chu) 27. Corners of the Mouth (I) 28. Preponderance of the Great (Ta Kuo)
29. The Bysmal (K’an) 30. The Clinging, Flame (Lin) 31. Influence (Hsien) 32. Duration (Heng)
33. Retreat (Tun) 34. The Power of the Great (Ta Chuang) 35. Progress (Chin) 36. Darkening of the light (Ming I)
37. The Family (Chia Jen) 38. Opposition (K’uei) 39. Obstruction (Chien) 40. Deliverance (Hsieh)
41. Decrease (Sung) 42. Increase (I) 43. Breakthrough (Kuai) 44. Coming to Meet (Kou)
45. Gathering Together (Ts’ui) 46. Pushing Upward (Sheng) 47. Oppression (K’un) 48. The Well (Ching)
49. Revolution (Ko) 50. The Cauldron (Ting) 51. The Arousing (Chen) 52. Keeping Still, Mountain (Ken)
53. Development (Chien) 54. The Marrying Maiden (Kuei Mei) 55. Great Abundance (Feng) 56. The Wanderer (Lu)
57. The Gentle (Sun) 58. The Joyous, Lake (Tui) 59. Dispersion (Huan) 60. Limitation (Chieh)
61. Inner Truth (Chung Fu) 62. Preponderance of the Small (Hsiao Kuo) 63. After Completion (Chi Chi) 64. Before Completion (Wei Chi)